IL Freedom Caucus Statement on the SAFE-T Act going into effect

Springfield, IL – The IL Freedom Caucus is issuing the following statement on the SAFE-T Act going fully into effect today.

“The SAFE-T Act is now the law of the land thanks to our far-left Governor and Legislature and of course our activist Illinois Supreme Court.

The elimination of cash bail is a terrible idea and one that we along with members of Illinois law enforcement have warned about. Our neighborhoods and communities are less safe because our leaders have decided to put the needs of criminals ahead of honest citizens. It is unwise to paint with a broad brush when it comes to our criminal justice system. Prosecutors and law enforcement need options when it comes to the adjudication of justice. Not every situation is the same. What is needed is discretion and common sense. The SAFE-T Act will inevitably lead to innocent people being harmed. This is what happens when woke ideology trumps the safety of our communities.”

The Illinois Freedom Caucus is comprised of State Representatives Chris Miller (R-Hindsboro), chairman; Blaine Wilhour (R-Beecher City), vice-chairman; Adam Niemerg (R-Dieterich); Brad Halbrook (R-Shelbyville); Dan Caulkins (R-Decatur); Jed Davis (R-Newark) and David Friess (R-Red Bud). The members of the Illinois Freedom Caucus are members of the Illinois General Assembly who are advocating for limited government, lower taxes and accountability and integrity in government.